Like a Bird, I Rise

by Nala Wu

"Like a Bird, I Rise"

Friends

by Jeremy Doiron

 

You’ll never know,

And nor will I,

If ever we could have been

More

Than just friends.

But just friends we’ll stay,

And good friends we’ll be;

Because I could never ask.

 

So we laugh and we joke,

We smile and we tease,

I look forward to seeing you

Every day.

 

Never will I call you mine,

Nor you me yours;

Though I will always be.

 

And I never know quite what to say to you,

Aloof behind your perfect walls.

Always I come to the point of saying, to revealing…

 

But then time’s up.

The chance over and

Done. And another day I wait,

Only to await the next,

 

happy.

Leave a Reply

