Leopard

by Anne Fu

Leopard by Anne Fu copy


Lost Light Found

by Kirtana Krishnakumar

 

They say it’s time to fight,

I back away.

 

They say there is more light,

I will not stay.

 

“Work hard, you’ll get it right.”

 

I work too much,

 

and get it wrong.

 

Stones atop one another,

pulling down with weight,

I struggle to get back up,

 

and fall.

 

Lying there flat,

these words on my face.

I slowly sit up.

 

they’re gone.

 

Getting up, brushing off,

sluicing away the worded residue.

 

I’m not golden, but bronze.

Bronzed with dirt, glowing bronze.

 

it is far more than enough.

 

Running far, not working so hard.

Why? It wasn’t necessary.

 

calm down.

 

Now

 

they say it’s time to fight,

I stand and fight.

 

and win.

 

They say there is more light.

I will stay.

 

Its fire never left me.

1 thought on “”

Leave a Reply

